Welcome to Minchinhampton Old Course
Minchinhampton Golf Club continues to monitor and adhere to the advice from the Government and England Golf
We are now open to visitors for ‘On the Day’ bookings only. Please call the office (01453 832642) to check availability and to book a tee time. All visitors and Member guests must read and comply with our MGC Play Safe, Stay Sage Guide (click here to read)
You are welcome to join as a Member and may be interested in the new feature that enables Full 7 Day Old Course Members access to tee times on the New Courses (The Avening & The Cherington) at restricted times. For more information please click here
We have taken this action to protect all parties involved and we hope that all our regular visitors remain well and look forward to welcoming golfers back to MGC soon
Golfing on the Common since 1889
The Old Course is situated in the delightful Cotswolds, some 3 miles from the town of Stroud. The Club is set on Minchinhampton Common, a National Trust area of outstanding natural beauty. It is close to the picturesque village of Amberley and the small market town of Minchinhampton.
The Old Course was originally established in 1889 and was one of the earliest clubs to be formed in the West of England. Golf has been enjoyed on the common from that date onwards. It is likened to an inland links course. There is no sand or water, just natural hazards such as the Bulwarks and quarries that reflect the history of the area. Cows wander the Common from May to October. In the Illustrated London News of 1890 the course was described thus "The oringinal "links" set out in 1889 needing a "high" degree of skill, strength, judgement and patience; the people of Gloucestershire are fortunate in having a lovely and extensive common for their golf", words still as relevant today.
Minchinhampton Old Course has also been referred to as 'a small club with a big heart' where visitors and Members are assured a very warm welcome and unique, historic course on which to play golf.
Minchinhampton New Course was opened with the Avening course in 1975 and the Cherington in 1995. They are situated approximately 3 miles from the Old Course.